

#### **EUROPEAN ARMENIAN FEDERATION** FOR JUSTICE & DEMOCRACY

#### Statement of 52 MEPs in the run-up to COP29 to take place in Baku Azerbaijan

In the run-up to Conference of the Parties – COP29 to be held in Azerbaijan in November 2024, we would like to emphasize that besides being an impactful and significant conference on climate, it also embodies commitment to principles of justice and human dignity. Hence, it is of paramount importance for the host country, in this case Azerbaijan, to showcase commitment to these principles too.

In line with the relevant resolutions and reports of the European Parliament, adopted since May 2021, we call on the Azerbaijani Government to

- immediately and unconditionally release all Armenian prisoners of war, hostages and captives in Baku, including the military-political leadership of Nagorno Karabakh;
- ensure that the Armenian cultural and religious heritage in Nagorno Karabakh stays intact, including the monasteries khachkars and refrain from their albanisation as well as history revisionism;
- refrain from threats and any aggression against the Republic of Armenia, withdraw the Azerbaijani military forces from the occupied territories of the Republic of Armenia.

Furthermore, we call on the EU Council, the Commission, the Vice-President of the Commission/High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy to heed the above-mentioned resolutions adopted by the European Parliament and act in their spirit.

#### Co-signers

1.	GALATO	ALEXANDRAKI	ECR – GREECE		
2.	NIKOLAOS	ANADIOTIS	NON-ATTACHED – GREECE		
3.	SAKIS	ARNAOUTOGLOU	S&D – GREECE		
4.	KONSTANTINOS	ARVANITIS	GUE/NGL – GREECE		
	(Vice-Chair GUE/NGL – Member of the Bureau))				
5.	FRANCISCO	ASSIS	S&D – PORTUGAL (Coordinator		
	for S&D of Committee of Human Rights)				
6.	WOUTER	BEKE	EPP – BELGIUM (Head of		
	National Delegation - Member of the EPP Bureau - Chair of the Delegation of ASEAN)				
7.	PERNANDO	BARRENA-AZA	GUE/NGL - SPAIN (Head of		
	National Delegation - Member of the Bureau of GUE/NGL)				



# EUROPEAN ARMENIAN FEDERATION FOR JUSTICE & DEMOCRACY

8	FRANÇOIS-XAVIER	RELLAMY	EPP – FRANCE (Vice-Chair EPP –		
٠.	Member of the EPP Bure				
9	LAURENT	CASTILLO	EPP – France (Chair		
•		with the Mashreq countries	ZII IIIIC (Chun		
10	CHRISTOPHE	CLERGEAU	S&D - FRANCE (Vice-Chair of		
10.	S&D – Member of the B		TRITTEL (VICE Chair of		
11	CLARA	DOBREV	S&D – HUNGARY (Head of		
11.			EU-UK Parliamentary Partnership		
	Assembly	ice-chair belegation to the	LO-OK Tarnamentary Tarmership		
12	•	FARANTOURIS	GUE/NGL – GREECE		
	CLAIRE	FITA	S&D - FRANCE (Vice-Chair		
13.		-EU Parliamentary Assembly	`		
1.4	LOUKAS	FOURLAS	EPP – CYPRUS (President of the		
14.			· ·		
	Friendship Group with Armenia – Chair of the Delegation to the EU-Serbia Stabilization and Association Parliamentary Committee – Member of the EPP Bureau)				
15		·	,		
13.	EMMANOUIL  Delegation Member of the	FRAGKOS	ECR – GREECE (head of National		
1.0			nair Subcommittee on Public Health)		
10.	GEADIS	GEADI	ECR – CYPRUS (Head of		
1.7	_	ember of the Bureau of ECR)			
17.	JEAN-MARC	GERMAIN	S&D – FRANCE (Coordinator of		
4.0	S&D Budget Committee				
18.	RAPHAEL	GLUKSMANN	S&D – FRANCE		
	(Head of National delega				
19.	MARKETA	GREGOROVA	GREENS/EFA –		
		Delegation to the Euronest Par			
20.	CHRISTOPHE	GOMART	EPP – FRANCE (Vice-Chair of		
	Subcommittee Security a	and Defense)			
21.	DIRK	GOTINK	EPP - NETHERLANDS (Vice-		
	Chair Delegation relations with Afghanistan)				
22.	MICHALIS	HADJIPANTELA	EPP – CYPRUS		
23.	EERO	HEINALUOMA	S&D - FINLAND (Head of		
	National Delegation- Treasurer of S&D – Member of the Bureau)				
24.	CÉLINE	IMART	EPP – FRANCE		
25.	PIERRE	JOUVET	S&D – FRANCE		
26.	FRANÇOIS	KALFON	S&D – FRANCE		
27.	ASSITA	KANKO	ECR - BELGIUM (Vice-Chair		
	ECR – member of the Bureau - Coordinator of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice				
and Home Affairs)					
28.	FERNAND	KARTHEISER	ECR -		
	LUXEMBOURG (Head	of National Delegation - Men	nber of the Bureau ECR)		



# EUROPEAN ARMENIAN FEDERATION FOR JUSTICE & DEMOCRACY

29. ELENA	KOUNTOURA	GUE/NGL – GREECE				
(Vice-Chair of Committee on Transport and Tourism)						
30. ANDREY	KOVATCHEV	EPP – BULGARIA (Head				
of National Delegation - Questor - Member of the Parliament's Bureau)						
31. AURORE	LALUCQ	S&D – France (Chair Committee				
on Economic and Monet	tary Affairs)					
32. MURIELLE	LAURENT	S&D – France				
33. MIRIAM	LEXMANN	EPP - SLOVAKIA (Head of				
National Delegation - Questor - Member of the Parliament's Bureau)						
34. NATHALIE	LOISEAU	RENEW – FRANCE				
(Coordinator of the Sub-	Committee of Security and D	efense - Vice-Chair of the Delegation				
EU-Armenia Parliament	EU-Armenia Parliamentary Partnership Committee)					
35. YANNIS	MANIATIS	S&D – GREECE (Head of National				
Delegation - Vice-Chair	of S&D – Member of the Bu	reau)				
36. COSTAS	MAVRIDES	S&D – CYPRUS (Head of National				
Delegation – Member of	f the Bureau)					
37. NORA	MEBAREK	S&D - FRANCE (Vice-Chair of				
Committee on Regional	Development)					
38. VANGELIS	<b>MEIMARAKIS</b>	EPP – GREECE				
39. NIKOS	PAPANDREOU	S&D – GREECE				
40. NIKOS	PAPPAS	GUE/NGL – GREECE				
41. THOMAS	PELLERIN-CARLIN	S&D – France				
42. EMMA	RAFFOWICZ	S&D - FRANCE (Vice-Chair of				
Committee on Culture a	nd Education)					
43. CLOÉ	RIDEL	S&D – FRANCE				
44. BERT-JAN	RUISSEN	ECR - THE				
NETHERLANDS (ECR	Group Chief Whip – Member	er of the Bureau – Coordinator of the				
Committee on Fisheries	)					
45. MASSIMILIANO	SALINI	EPP – ITALY				
(Vice-Chair of EPP – M	(Vice-Chair of EPP – Member of the Bureau)					
46. ERIC	SARGIACOMO	S&D - FRANCE (Vice-Chair of				
Committee on Agricultu	re and Rural Development)					
47. MARTIN	SONNEBORN	NON-ATTACHED –				
GERMANY						
48. MARIE	TOUSSAINT	GREENS/EFA - FRANCE (Head				
of National Delegation -Vice-President GREENS/EFA - Member of the Bureau)						
49. SEBASTIAN	TYNKKYNEN	ECR – FINLAND (Head of				
National Delegation – M	Tember of the ECR Bureau)					



### **EUROPEAN ARMENIAN FEDERATION FOR JUSTICE & DEMOCRACY**

- 50. YVAN VEROUGSTRAETE RENEW BELGIUM (Head of National Delegation Member of the RENEW Bureau, Vice-Chair of the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy)
- 51. CHARLIE WEIMERS ECR SWEDEN (Head of National Delegation Vice Chair of ECR Member of the Bureau Vice Chair of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs)
- 52. MARIA ZACHARIA N/A GREECE